Deprecated: Function get_page_by_title is deprecated since version 6.2.0! Use WP_Query instead. in /var/www/html/wp-includes/functions.php on line 5453Skip to the content
History and teachings
The museum was founded in 1936 on the basis of a rich collection of local artifacts related to Antiquity. It was officially opened in 1970 as a municipal cultural institution in the course of the Fourth National Archaeological Conference held in Blagoevgrad. The museum organizes and conducts archaeological research on the site of the ancient settlement, situated under the modern town of Sandanski. It has representative collections of gravestone marble sculpture and antique mosaics. The emphasis of its work is the maintenance and exhibition of the ancient site “The Basilica of Bishop Ioan”. Its fund includes more than 11,000 movable cultural assets. It performs promotional and scientific activities. Archaeological Park of newly restored Early Christian buildings from the Roman city Parthicopolis in the southwestern Bulgarian town of Sandanski.
The Archaeological Park in Sandanski features over 1,000 cultural and archaeological artifacts.
These include the most interesting artifacts of the recent archaeological discoveries from the ancient city of Parthicopolis made as the local archaeologists were working on the further excavation and restoration of the Early Christian complex. These provide a comprehensive historical view of the region and the links to neighbouring countries and transnational trends and influences
recommended for all; unique; does not require prior knowledge; accessible;
Central public transportation available. Human resources, assistanceyes. Accessibility (for disabled) , preparedness of the staff: accessible. Infrastructure, staff, safety measures, languages yes, all in place, guided tours available in Bulgarian and English